[Humanist] 27.926 call for submissions: prize for outstanding book

Humanist Discussion Group willard.mccarty at mccarty.org.uk
Sat Mar 29 08:41:00 CET 2014

                 Humanist Discussion Group, Vol. 27, No. 926.
            Department of Digital Humanities, King's College London
                Submit to: humanist at lists.digitalhumanities.org

        Date: Fri, 28 Mar 2014 15:34:29 +0000
        From: David Nofre <d.nofre at GMAIL.COM>
        Subject: 2014 Computer History Museum Prize (Outstandin​g Book), 15 May deadline

Computer History Museum Prize 2014

2014 Call for Submissions

The Computer History Museum Prize is awarded to the author of an outstanding book in the history of computing broadly conceived, published during the prior three years. The prize of $1,000 is awarded by SIGCIS, the Special Interest Group for Computers, Information and Society. SIGCIS is part of the Society for the History of Technology. 

Books published in 2011-2013 are eligible for the 2014 award. Books in translation are eligible for three years following the date of their publication in English. Publishers, authors, and other interested members of the computer history community are invited to nominate books. Send one copy of the nominated title to each of the committee members listed below. To be considered, book submissions must be postmarked by 15 May 2014 For more information, please contact the prize committee chair. Current information about the prize, including the most recent call and a list of previous winners, may always be found at http://www.sigcis.org/chmprize.

In 2012 the prize was endowed in perpetuity through a generous bequest from the estate of Paul Baran, a legendary computer innovator and entrepreneur best known for his work to develop and promote the packet switching approach on which modern networks are built. Baran was a long-time supporter of work on the history of information technology and named the prize to celebrate the contributions of the Computer History Museum to that field. 

2014 Prize Committee Members

Rebecca Slayton: Lecturer in Public Policy, Stanford University, 616 Serra Street, Stanford, CA 94305-6055. rslayton at stanford.edu

David Nofre (chair): Research Affiliate, Centre d'Estudis d'Història de la Ciència at the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona. Send books to him at Kleyn Proffijtlaan 47, 2343DB Oegstgeest, Netherlands d.nofre at gmail.com

Joseph A. November: Associate Professor, University of South Carolina, Department of History, 817 Henderson St., Gambrell Hall, Room 245, Columbia, SC 29208. november at sc.edu

Please address any questions to David Nofre.

Previous Winners

•2009: Christophe Lécuyer, Making Silicon Valley: Innovation and the Growth of High Tech, 1930-1970 (MIT Press, 2006).

•2010: Atsushi Akera, Calculating a Natural World: Scientists, Engineers, and Computers During the Rise of U.S. Cold War Research (MIT Press, 2007).

•2011: Paul N. Edwards, A Vast Machine: Computer Models, Climate Data, and the Politics of Global Warming (MIT Press, 2010).

•2012: Eden Medina, Cybernetic Revolutionaries:Technology and Politics in Allende's Chile (MIT Press, 2011).

•2013: Joseph A. November. Biomedical Computing: Digitizing Life in the United States (Johns Hopkins University Press, 2012).

More information about the Humanist mailing list