[Humanist] 27.726 nominations for an award: automated deduction

Humanist Discussion Group willard.mccarty at mccarty.org.uk
Wed Jan 22 07:44:54 CET 2014

                 Humanist Discussion Group, Vol. 27, No. 726.
            Department of Digital Humanities, King's College London
                Submit to: humanist at lists.digitalhumanities.org

        Date: Tue, 21 Jan 2014 20:16:29 +0000
        From: Geoff Sutcliffe <geoff at cs.miami.edu>
        Subject: Herbrand Award Nominations, 2014

This message  was originally  submitted by  geoff at CS.MIAMI.EDU to  the humanist
list at LISTS.PRINCETON.EDU. If you simply forward it back to the list, using a
mail command  that generates "Resent-" fields  (ask your local user  support or
consult  the documentation  of  your mail  program  if in  doubt),  it will  be
distributed  and  the  explanations  you   are  now  reading  will  be  removed
automatically. If on the other hand you edit the contributions you receive into
a digest, you will have to  remove this paragraph manually. Finally, you should
be able  to contact  the author  of this  message by  using the  normal "reply"
function of your mail program.

----------------- Message requiring your approval (54 lines) ------------------
Herbrand Award: Call for Nominations

Martin Giese
Secretary of AAR and CADE
On behalf of the CADE Inc. Board of Trustees

The Herbrand Award is given by CADE Inc. to honour a person or group for 
exceptional contributions to the field of Automated Deduction. At most one 
Herbrand Award will be given at each CADE or IJCAR meeting. The Herbrand 
Award has been given in the past to

Larry Wos (1992)
Woody Bledsoe (1994)
Alan Robinson (1996)
Wu Wen-Tsun (1997)
Gerard Huet (1998)
Robert S. Boyer and J Strother Moore (1999)
William W. McCune (2000)
Donald W. Loveland (2001)
Mark E. Stickel (2002)
Peter B. Andrews (2003)
Harald Ganzinger (2004)
Martin Davis (2005)
Wolfgang Bibel (2006)
Alan Bundy (2007)
Edmund Clarke (2008)
Deepak Kapur (2009)
David Plaisted (2010)
Nachum Dershowitz (2011)
Melvin Fitting (2012)
Greg Nelson (2013)

A nomination is required for consideration for the Herbrand award. The 
deadline for nominations for the Herbrand Award that will be given at 
IJCAR 2014 is:

    15th April 2014

Nominations pending from previous years must be resubmitted in order to be 

Nominations should consist of a letter (preferably email) of up to 2000 
words from the principal nominator, describing the nominee's contribution, 
along with letters of up to 2000 words of endorsement from two other 
seconders. Nominations should be sent to

    Maria Paola Bonacina, President of CADE Inc.
    mariapaola.bonacina (at) univr.it

with copy to

    Martin Giese, Secretary of CADE Inc. and AAR
    martingi (at) ifi.uio.no

More information about the Humanist mailing list