[Humanist] 27.299 Zampolli and Fortier prizes; bursary awards

Humanist Discussion Group willard.mccarty at mccarty.org.uk
Thu Aug 29 06:53:01 CEST 2013

                 Humanist Discussion Group, Vol. 27, No. 299.
            Department of Digital Humanities, King's College London
                Submit to: humanist at lists.digitalhumanities.org

        Date: Wed, 28 Aug 2013 13:15:40 -0500
        From: Lisa Spiro <lisamspiro at gmail.com>
        Subject: ADHO Announces Recipients of the Zampolli and Fortier Prizes

The Alliance of Digital Humanities Organizations (ADHO) is pleased to
announce that Dr. Raymond Siemens of the University of Victoria has won the
2014 Antonio Zampolli Prize and that Courtney Evans and Ben Jasnow of the
University of Virginia have received the Paul Fortier prize for the best
paper presented by young scholars at the 2013 Digital Humanities Conference.

Recognizing a singular achievement in the digital humanities, the Zampolli
Prize is named in honor of Professor Antonio Zampolli (1937-2003), who was
a founding member of the Association for Literary and Linguistic Computing
(ALLC), ALLC President from 1983-2003, and a leader in establishing the
Text Encoding Initiative (TEI) and the TEI Consortium. ADHO awards the
prize triennially; Siemens is only the second recipient. Siemens, Canada
Research Chair in Humanities Computing and Distinguished Professor in the
Faculty of Humanities at the University of Victoria, won the award based on
his leadership in establishing and running the Digital Humanities Summer
Institute (DHSI), a week-long educational program that explores the
implications of computing technologies for teaching, research, and the
creation, dissemination and preservation of knowledge. Launched in 2001,
DHSI brings together faculty, staff, students and independent scholars in
arts, libraries, humanities and archives for hands-on work, lectures and
seminars in digital humanities (DH) and represents an outstanding
achievement in teaching, mentorship, and community building. Neil Fraistat,
Chair of ADHO’s Steering Committee, comments: “We are delighted to
recognize Ray’s trail-blazing leadership in DH training, which is moving
beyond DHSI itself to the formation of a world-wide training network, and
we are deeply grateful for his long-term outstanding service to ADHO and
the DH community overall.” Siemens will be presented with the award and
give the Zampolli Prize lecture at the 2014 Digital Humanities conference,
to be held in Lausanne, Switzerland. He will receive a 1000 GBP prize.

In awarding the Fortier Prize, a group of experienced conference
participants attended presentations by five finalists and selected Evans
and Jasnow’s innovative work applying digital tools to the analysis of
Homer. The prize pays tribute to Paul Fortier, who was the University
Distinguished Professor of French at the University of Manitoba, Canada, a
leader in digital humanities organizations, and an active supporter of
young scholars. Evans and Jasnow, graduate students in classics at the
University of Virginia, won the Fortier Prize for their paper “Homer’s
Catalogue of Ships,” which uses mapping technologies to investigate whether
a geographical principle informs Homer’s catalogue of ships in The Iliad.
To quote some comments of the reviewers on the winning paper: "It was a
lovely presentation, one that, to my mind, represents exactly what we would
hope for in digital humanities work from young scholars. This paper was a
very nice model of digital discovery in action." And: "The presenters gave
us a lovely, imaginative, graphic, and visually well-designed presentation;
a clear narrative arc rather than the standard "bullet-point" style; and
tantalizing hypotheses for future work."  As Rafael Alvarado noted of their
work, which was done in collaboration with Dr. Jenny Strauss Clay and the
University of Virginia’s Scholars’ Lab, “I am sure many human­ists out­side
of the dig­i­tal human­i­ties, and not only clas­si­cists, will grasp both
the method and its results, and will be inspired to ask inter­est­ing
ques­tions of both Homer and the researchers on the basis of this
under­stand­ing.” The winners will share a 500 GBP prize and are invited to
publish their work in an ADHO journal.

In addition, fourteen students or young scholars received bursary awards to
support their participation in the Digital Humanities 2013 conference.
Recipients of the bursary awards include:

    * Hamed M. Alhoori, Texas A&M University

    * Adam Anderson, Harvard University and David Bamman, Carnegie Mellon

    * Drayton Callen Benner, University of Chicago

    * Alberto Campagnolo, University of the Arts, London

    * Alexandra Chassanoff, UNC Chapel Hill

    * Constance Crompton, UBC-Okanagan

    * Courtney Evans and Ben Jasnow, University of Virginia

    * Paul Matthew Gooding, University College London

    * Andrew Hankinson, McGill University

    * Simon Rowberry, University of Winchester

    * Graham Alexander Sack, Columbia University

    * Ayush Shrestha, Georgia State University

    * Dana Ryan Solomon, UC Santa Barbara

    * Lindsay Thomas, University of California, Santa Barbara

The announcement of the Zampolli and Fortier Prizes was made during the
closing ceremonies of the Digital Humanities 2013 conference, hosted in
July at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

Lisa Spiro, Ph.D.
ADHO Communications Officer
Blog: http://digitalscholarship.wordpress.com/
Twitter: @lisaspiro
Phone: 832-341-0380

More information about the Humanist mailing list