[Humanist] 26.966 ALLC Elections 2013

Humanist Discussion Group willard.mccarty at mccarty.org.uk
Tue Apr 16 07:20:34 CEST 2013

                 Humanist Discussion Group, Vol. 26, No. 966.
            Department of Digital Humanities, King's College London
                Submit to: humanist at lists.digitalhumanities.org

        Date: Mon, 15 Apr 2013 10:44:48 +0100
        From: Melissa Terras <melissaterras at gmail.com>
        Subject: Reminder: ALLC (EADH) elections - closing date for nominations 20th April

ALLC Elections 2013

Nominations are now invited for three committee posts, each to serve a 3-year term.  The current members of the executive committee, Espen Ore and Jan Rybicki, are standing for re-election.
All nominations require the support of two joint or ALLC: EADH members - in effect a proposer and seconder - and the written consent of the nominee.  Note that self-nomination is excluded by the constitution, and membership must be current.

All nominations should be sent to  nominations[at]allc.org

Full details of the election process are to be found on the EADH website at www.allc.org.  Nominations may be made by email or by post. A copy of the Constitution is also available on the EADH  website.

The nomination period has now begun and will run to April 20th.  If there are more than three nominations for the committee member positions, voting will take place in May.  Results will be announced at the association's annual general meeting, which will take place during the DH2013 conference.

Nominations are also invited for the role of chair and for the role of treasurer, two of the designated officers of the association. If there is more than one nomination for a given officer's position, then the appointment of a new chair and new treasurer, from among those nominated, will be made by the committee at its July meeting in Lincoln, Nebraska, just prior to the DH2013 conference.  Paul Spence, our current treasurer, will not stand for re-election, and, as you almost certainly know, Lisa Lena Opas-Hänninen, chair since 2010, passed away in Feb.  The chair and the treasurer serve a three-year terms, subject to a single renewal, and their duties are specified in the constitution (http://www.allc.org/about/constitution).  Anyone interested in serving in this position is encouraged to send an expression of interest, including a 1-page CV and a 250-word statement of what s/he would hope to accomplish as chair to nominations[at]allc.org no later than midnight, May 15, 2013 (GMT).  Questions about the position may be addressed confidentially to John Nerbonne, j.nerbonne[at]rug.nl, EADH president.
Melissa M. Terras MA MSc DPhil CLTHE CITP FHEA
Co-Director, UCL Centre for Digital Humanities
Reader in Electronic Communication
Department of Information Studies
Foster Court
University College London
Gower Street
Tel: 020-7679-7206 (direct), 020-7679-7204 (dept), 020-7383-0557 (fax)
Email: m.terras at ucl.ac.uk
Web: http://www.ucl.ac.uk/infostudies/melissa-terras/
Blog: http://melissaterras.blogspot.com/
General Editor, Digital Humanities Quarterly: http://www.digitalhumanities.org/dhq/

More information about the Humanist mailing list