[Humanist] 31.747 history of computing prize

Humanist Discussion Group willard.mccarty at mccarty.org.uk
Thu Apr 5 07:15:28 CEST 2018

                 Humanist Discussion Group, Vol. 31, No. 747.
            Department of Digital Humanities, King's College London
                Submit to: humanist at lists.digitalhumanities.org

        Date: Tue, 3 Apr 2018 21:17:05 +0100
        From: James Sumner <james.sumner at MANCHESTER.AC.UK>
        Subject: CHM Prize for a book on history of computing/IT, deadline Monday 30 April
        In-Reply-To: <CADfUp7S_vaMXs2Sb5+HPG+juUfQZ_Ksz6PkdeYUR4xgCK4w+uA at mail.gmail.com>

Also crossposted from SIGCIS-Members:

-------- Forwarded Message --------
> Subject: 	[SIGCIS-Members] Computer History Museum Prize Nominations - 
Due: April 30
> Date: 	Tue, 3 Apr 2018 15:05:19 -0400

The Computer History Museum Prize is awarded to the author of an 
outstanding book in the history of computing broadly conceived, 
published during the prior three years. The prize of $1,000 is awarded 
by SIGCIS, the Special Interest Group for Computers, Information and 
Society. SIGCIS is part of the Society for the History of Technology.

In 2012 the prize was endowed in perpetuity through a generous bequest 
from the estate of Paul Baran, a legendary computer innovator and 
entrepreneur best known for his work to develop and promote the packet 
switching approach on which modern networks are built. Baran was a 
longtime supporter of work on the history of information technology and 
named the prize to celebrate the contributions of the Computer History 
Museum to that field.

_2018 Call for Submission_

Books published in 2015-2017 are eligible for the 2018 award. Books in 
translation are eligible for three years following the date of their 
publication in English. Publishers, authors, and other interested 
members of the computer history community are invited to nominate books. 
Please note that books nominated in previous years may be nominated 
again, provided they have been published in the timeframes specified 
above. Send one copy of the nominated title to each of the committee 
members listed below, with a postmark no later than*April 30, 2018.*For 
more information, please contactAndrew Russell 
<mailto:arussell at arussell.org>, SIGCIS Chair. Current information about 
the prize, including the most recent call and a list of previous 
winners, always may be found at http://www.sigcis.org/chmprize.

_2018 Prize Committee Members_

  * Hallam Stevens (2018 Chair)
    School of Humanities, Nanyang Technological University
    14 Nanyang Drive #05-07
    Singapore 637332
  * Janet Abbate
    Dept. of Science, Technology and Society
    Virginia Tech Northern Virginia Center
    7054 Haycock Road
    Falls Church, VA 22043
  * Rebecca Slayton
    Department of Science & Technology Studies
    Morrill 320
    Cornell University
    Ithaca, NY 14853

More information about the Humanist mailing list