[Humanist] 29.628 book prize

Humanist Discussion Group willard.mccarty at mccarty.org.uk
Sat Jan 16 07:43:36 CET 2016

                 Humanist Discussion Group, Vol. 29, No. 628.
            Department of Digital Humanities, King's College London
                Submit to: humanist at lists.digitalhumanities.org

        Date: Fri, 15 Jan 2016 13:39:56 -0500
        From: Joy Lisi Rankin <joy.rankin at yale.edu>
        Subject: Call for submissions for Computer History Museum Book Prize

The Computer History Museum Prize is awarded to the author of an outstanding book in the history of computing broadly conceived, published during the prior three years. The prize of $1,000 is awarded by SIGCIS, the Special Interest Group for Computers, Information and Society. SIGCIS is part of the Society for the History of Technology. 
In 2012 the prize was endowed in perpetuity through a generous bequest from the estate of Paul Baran, a legendary computer innovator and entrepreneur best known for his work to develop and promote the packet switching approach on which modern networks are built. Baran was a longtime supporter of work on the history of information technology and named the prize to celebrate the contributions of the Computer History Museum to that field. 

2016 Call for Submission
Books published in 2013-2015 are eligible for the 2016 award. Books in translation are eligible for three years following the date of their publication in English. Publishers, authors, and other interested members of the computer history community are invited to nominate books. Please note that books nominated in previous years may be nominated again, porvided they have been published in the timeframes specified above. Send one copy of the nominated title to each of the committee members listed below. To be considered, book submissions must be postmarked by February 18, 2016. For more information, please contact Dr. Joy Rankin <mailto:joy.rankin at yale.edu>, the 2016 prize committee chair. Current information about the prize, including the most recent call and a list of previous winners, always may be found at http://www.sigcis.org/chmprize  http://www.sigcis.org/chmprize .

2016 Prize Committee Members
Joseph A. November
Associate Professor and McCausland Fellow
Department of History
University of South Carolina
817 Henderson Street
Gambrell Hall, Room 245
Columbia, SC 29208
Joy Rankin (2016 Chair)
Visiting Scholar, American Academy of Arts and Sciences
136 Irving Street
Cambridge, MA 02138
Christophe Lécuyer
Université Pierre et Marie Curie
4 place Jussieu
75005 Paris

More information about the Humanist mailing list