[Humanist] 22.699 events: immersive worlds

Humanist Discussion Group willard.mccarty at mccarty.org.uk
Thu Apr 16 07:45:15 CEST 2009


                 Humanist Discussion Group, Vol. 22, No. 699.
         Centre for Computing in the Humanities, King's College London
                       www.digitalhumanities.org/humanist
                Submit to: humanist at lists.digitalhumanities.org



        Date: Wed, 15 Apr 2009 16:13:19 -0400
        From: Kevin Kee <kevin.kee at brocku.ca>
        Subject: REGISTRATION OPEN - INTERACTING WITH IMMERSIVE WORLDS CONFERENCE


REGISTRATION OPEN - INTERACTING WITH IMMERSIVE WORLDS CONFERENCE

Interacting with Immersive Worlds
An International Conference presented at
Brock University, St. Catharines, Ontario
JUNE 15-16, 2009

Register to attend at: www.brocku.ca/iasc/immersiveworlds

Focusing on the growing cultural significance of interactive media,  
IWIW will feature academic papers organized along four streams:
-Challenges at the Boundaries of Immersive Worlds features creative  
exploration and innovation in immersive media including ubiquitous  
computing, telepresence, interactive art and fiction, and alternate  
reality.

-Critical Approaches to Immersion looks at analyses of the cultural  
and/or psychological impact of immersive worlds, as well as theories  
of interactivity.

-Immersive Worlds in Education examines educational applications of  
immersive technologies.

-Immersive Worlds in Entertainment examines entertainment applications  
of immersive technologies, such as computer games.

The IWIW conference also features 4 keynote speakers:

-Janet Murray, Director of Graduate Studies, School of Literature,  
Communication and Culture, Georgia Institute of Technology

-Espen Aarseth, Associate Professor, Department of Media and  
Communication, IT University of Denmark

-Geoffrey Rockwell, Professor, Department of Philosophy and Humanities  
Computing, University of Alberta

-Deborah Todd, Game Designer, Writer and Producer, and Author of Game  
Design: From Blue Sky to Green Light

Visit the conference Web site at www.brocku.ca/iasc/immersiveworlds

Organizing Committee:
Jean Bridge, Centre for Digital Humanities, Brock University, jbridge at brocku.ca
Martin Danahay, Department of English Language and Literature, Brock  
University,
mdanahay at brocku.ca
Denis Dyack, Silicon Knights, Catharines, Ontario, denis at siliconknights.ca
Barry Grant, Department of Communication, Popular Culture and Film, bgrant at brocku.ca
David Hutchison, Faculty of Education, Brock University, davidh at brocku.ca
Kevin Kee, Department of History, Brock University, kkee at brocku.ca
John Mitterer, Department of Psychology, Brock University, jmitterer at brocku.ca
Michael Winter, Department of Computer Science, Brock University, mwinter at brocku.ca
Philip Wright, Information Technology Services, Brock University, philip.wright at brocku.ca






More information about the Humanist mailing list